‘TANKA’ – WEEKLY WRITING CHALLENGE

 http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_writing_challenge/full-tanka/

FOR ALL MY FRIENDS WHO DON’T KNOW WHAT A ‘TANKA’ IS :

The Japanese tanka is a thirty-one-syllable poem, traditionally written in a single unbroken line. A form of waka, Japanese song or verse, tanka translates as “short song,” and is better known in its five-line, 5/7/5/7/7 syllable count form. If haiku is the sashimi of poetry, tanka is its heartier hand roll cousin.

 So though I have not ever tried my hand at Haiku or tanka…I have decided to give it a shot…I have created 3 ‘me’ versions of tanka . Although I have tried to stick to the specifics of 31 syllables and the 5-7-5-7-7 sequence , I request the experts in the field to forgive me for any shortcomings …SO HERE GOES..:

 

FIRST ONE :

I love when it rains

the pitter patter of drops

falling on rooftops,

the intoxicating scent

of the beautiful , wet earth

 

SECOND ONE

Beautiful nature ,

oh ! how colourful you are ;

the vibrant flowers ,

the butterflies that hover ,

and the ’emerald’ green grass 

 

THIRD ONE ( A description of my daughter )

My small girl is three 

Her name is Eshanika

To dance and sing are

her most favourite hobbies ,

while ,she is away from school

 

5 thoughts on “‘TANKA’ – WEEKLY WRITING CHALLENGE

  1. Pingback: Remember Me [TANKA] | Ramisa the Authoress

  2. Pingback: Joy of St Peter’s | litadoolan

  3. Pingback: An Astronaut and a Star – The 8th of September 2005 – Plainview, Texas | Forgotten Correspondence

Would love to know your views here :

