Writing 201: Hero(ine)

Writing 201

Whether it’s a hero or a heroine, your poem today should focus on a person with an outsized personality — someone who makes a splash (or a mess) whenever he or she crosses others’ path.

The following is my response to this prompt. It is a poetry that is written surrounding a heroine (which is my mother ) and I have tried to use the form of ballad , hoping you all like it ! )

There was once a maiden

A gentle woman was she

She spent her days in the kitchen

making meals and serving tea

Oh our dear maiden..

what a gentle woman was she  ! (refrain – chorus )

The stork visited her twice

Two daughters were born to her

And  all was happy and nice

with our maiden , now a mother

Oh our dear maiden..

what a gentle woman was she  ! (refrain – chorus )

Days rolled into weeks , weeks into years

Our maiden is now older

Trying to wipe away the tears

and willing to offer her shoulder .

Oh our dear maiden..

what a gentle woman was she  ! (refrain – chorus )

The daughters were now married

each to a charming groom

But our maiden , she still tarried

For her own dreams , there was no room

Oh our dear maiden..

what a gentle woman was she  ! (refrain – chorus )

Years flew by again

Our maiden is now a granny

Still prepared to bear all pain

Her sorrows , oh-too-many !

Oh our dear maiden..

what a gentle woman was she  ! (refrain – chorus )

Love and compassion 

that is what she is about

her own dreams and passion

still wait to be reached out…..

Oh our dear maiden..

what a gentle woman is she  ! (refrain – chorus )

16 thoughts on “Writing 201: Hero(ine)

    • Thank you so much Ruchi ! and I really wish I could participate…in fact I am feeling really bad that I have to decline , because I am leaving for the North East the day after and thereafter may be less active (because the place I am going to has no mob connectivity and poor internet connectivity . But I will try to be present at least on the weekends . I am going to miss all of you . So continuous 5 days cannot be for me right now . Thanks so much for inviting me 🙂

      Like

      • Hi Sweety! Please do not feel bad about it. Enjoy your time off as I have heard North East is a wonderful place. Will look forward for your beautiful pictures. In fact I will be visiting India too for few weeks and will be away for a while. So will connect again once I am back. Till then Sayonara! 🙂

        Like

  1. Interesting! I like the ballad form. I was a bit confused at first since you referred to her as a maiden usually both young and unmarried, often childless. However, I liked it overall, thought the last section was best! I can definitely picture someone singing this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hehe ! thank you so much Emily..Yes..I was a bit confused about using the word ‘maiden’ , but then I wanted a word to depict her youthful charm as a young women , newly wed (she was only 18 then ) , so thought I would go with it..Thanks for reading it and providing me your lovely comments 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Would love to know your views here :

