A village tour

Time is flying by fast. And I have already completed a month in this beautiful part of India. Another month and then I am off with my suitcases again. But before I let go , I am trying to soak in as much as possible from this lovely land.

My walks through these hills have always been rewarding and when I get back , I shall have a whole lot of pictures to treasure forever.

These green golden hills and cottony clouds can make anybody a poet and inspire any one to write. But words will never be enough. On one such walks I visited a village nearby and tried capturing the rustic life of the villagers through my camera. The population is sparse and I barely got a glimpse of a villager !

Hope you enjoy this tour :

IMG_5030

IMG_5070

IMG_5034

IMG_5039

IMG_5043

IMG_5040
Collecting firewood which is the main source of energy for cooking and other purposes. I loved the hand made basket to collect the firewood .

 

IMG_5041
Cane and bamboo form the raw material which meet the requirements of everyday life-from house building to making baskets, fishing traps, items of dress, construction of suspension bridges, religious paraphernalia, etc. Basketry is an important craft of the people of Arunachal , which is exclusicely reserved for men , while women control the textile weaving.

  

IMG_5046

IMG_5349
A villager I captured candidly while he came to collect firewood .
IMG_5351
Notice the long sword like knife called the ‘Dah’ used to chop wood ..

 CLICK HERE FOR MORE INFORMATION ON THE ‘DAH’ OR ‘DHA’.

\

IMG_5049

IMG_5047

IMG_5058

IMG_5083

IMG_5060

IMG_5054-001

IMG_5031

IMG_5071

The ‘make shift’ gate of the local school here.

IMG_5074

The building behind is the school .

IMG_5055

9 thoughts on “A village tour

  1. Beautifully captured!!! Each one better than the other…Brings back all those memories of Nagaland…the houses, school and even the kirana stores look so similar…enjoy every precious moment there…lots of love!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a lovely place and thank you for the tour. I enjoyed these pictures and am sure you would be having a good time. It seems difficult to leave the place after a month. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Would love to know your views here :

